Last weekend, I was travelling Tasmania with Andrea. We had both heard a lot of great things about the restaurant Stillwater. Before going to Tasmania, we decided we had to head down. Stillwater is located in Launceston.

We ended up making our way there one morning for a spot of brunch, prior to a big trip to Cradle Mountain.  Obviously we needed a satisfying meal, to ensure we survived the day.

Stillwater is in an amazing location. Right by the water, a very refreshing view. I love the interior. Inside is very rustic but at the same time rather elegant.

img_0219img_0216img_0201

We were greeted by lovely staff. After being led to our table, our waitress Amandine was quickly back to take our drinks order. I started with my usual piccolo latte and Andrea chose a regular latte. The coffee was great, milk textured well and the coffee had great flavour.

img_0103

We then ordered our food. Andrea chose the Rye waffles, Served with cold smoked Huon salmon, dill cucumber, eggs and mustard crème fraiche. I chose the Eggs Eenedict, Served with Mount Gnomon Farm ham, hollandaise and lovage. Oh my gosh both these dishes were so good, We ended up sharing both.

The poached eggs on both dishes were cooked perfectly. You cracked into the egg and the yolk just ran out, mmm I’m salivating at the thought. The hollandaise on the Eggs Benedict was amazing! There was something about it, so buttery and delicious. The ham was also ridiculously good. Everything so fresh and tasty.

img_0160img_0118

The rye waffles were just as good. I usually find waffles to dense but these were light and fluffy, and crisp on the outside. Really to die for. The smoked salmon went really well with the dill cucumber, and the mustard crème fraiche. The food was just so good.

img_0147img_0126

I also had a delicious affogato.

img_0197

Personally I wish this place was my local. I think I would be there for breakfast, lunch and dinner. I am not sure if I’ve enjoyed brunch quiet as much as I did at Stillwater. I need to go back sometime for lunch or dinner.

They have won awards for their wine list, with Gourmet Traveler rating them as the best wine list in Tasmania. Which shows of some great Tasmanian wine producers, but also has a few classy imports. Oh man the more I write, the more I realise how much I need to go back.

Upstairs there is also an awesome little store called Providore. It is the perfect little tourist shop. Filled with products made in Tasmania. It’s got so many cool things; I could literally walk around the store for hours. It’s where I bought some delicious gin from Shene Destillery, called Poltergeist (look it up, it has won awards). Providore is a great first stop for Tasmania, because it gives such good ideas for places to go, just by looking there.

img_0203img_0202

Anyway, whether you ive in Tasmania, or you are on a trip like I was. You should go to Stillwater for an amazing food experience.

Noah Esposito

For more photos of Stillwater and elsewhere check out my other blogs or Instagram linked here: @Melbourne_Food_Finds

 

Stillwater Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato