Before I start my thoughts on the Four Pillars dry gin, I would just like to say why I love gin. It is a great drink because there are so many different styles it can suit anyone’s taste, as well as different types of cocktails.

IMG_6921

Onto Four Pillars, They are a company based in Victoria’s Yarra Valley, at a venue that is both a spectacle and a great place to visit for gin tastings (which cost only $10 for the full range.) Which is also complimented by great staff, who have an extensive knowledge of gin.

On my pallet the Four Pillars dry gin displays floral notes, the triple distiling process brings out the aromatic botanicals. The botanicals include European Juniper berries and spices from South East Asia to the Middle East. Some of the Australian botanicals include lemon myrtle and pepperberry from Tasmania. Star anise and cinnamon are also used. The lemon myrtle and cinnamon are prominent to my pallet when drinking the gin on the rocks. The pepperberry adds warmth and helps it go down smooth.

As I said it is great on the rocks. It is also great in Negroni’s, martinis and I also made a delicious Lemon/lime Gin sour! A drink I recommend trying out, 30 mils of rare dry gin, 2 squeezed limes and lemons, a teaspoon of sugar and an egg white. All shaken up.

IMG_7693IMG_7697

I enjoyed it very much. I can’t get enough of it. I cannot wait to try some of the other Four Pillars gin to a greater extent.

Photographed and written by Noah Esposito

