The Melbourne Gin Company distillery is at Gembrook Hill, it produces great gin. They make a relatively traditional style of gin with some Melbourne twists thrown in. Founded by the wine maker Andrew Marks.

IMG_2697

They make a dry gin. Made with eleven botanicals, the gin is very aromatic, but also smooth on the way down. It is a good gin to use for cocktails, but it is just as good to have on the rocks. Some of the more traditional botanicals used in the distilling process are the juniper berries, coriander seed, grapefruit peel and rosemary hail. Some of the Melbourne twists include macadamia, sandalwood and honey lemon myrtle.

Personally I really enjoy this gin, it is smooth gin with a heap of flavour. I was lucky enough to head to The Barre, which had a collaboration which matched food to Melbourne Gin Co based cocktails.

My personal favorite from that night was the Shiso Blackberry Bramble. The cocktail mix was MGC Dry Gin, St. Germain elderflower liqueur, fresh lemon juice, blackberry-shiso syrup and fresh Blackberries. This is one of the best cocktails I have had to date. The blackberry- shiso syrup added so much delicious flavour, I havenโ€™t experienced anything like it since and all the other ingredients complimented the gin beautifully.

IMG_2072

I have tried a few classics with the Dry Gin like aย gin and tonic, as well as delicious Negroni. I also made a simple mix of sweet vermouth and MGC dry gin. Obviously I tried it on the rocks. It was very smooth, you can taste all the botanicals,which all blend together well to make a great smooth drink.

I love that the MGC dry gin can stand up in all gin based cocktails, and always adds nice flavour to a drink.

IMG_2967IMG_2714

I highly recommend you try this delicious gin!

 

Noah Esposito

 

