On our amazing trip to Tasmania, we decided to go to Josef Chromy Winery. This is a cellar door and restaurant. I didn’t really know much about the place before I went so I basically put myself in Andrea’s hands. Luckily for her it payed off this time.

We started of at the cellar door, waiting for our reservation. Naturally we decided to try a few of their wines. They have a huge variety, so I’m not going to go into detail explaining them all to you. Anyway our favorites were the Chardonnay and Pinot Noir. The wine was so good we bought six bottles.

After a good fifteen-minute wine tasting, we made our way to the restaurant. The layout was amazing. The restaurant overlooked the majestic Josef Chromy vineyard. There was also a deck with the vineyard view. We sat outside on the desk.

IMG_0998

It was time to order drinks. Andrea chose the Chardonnay and I chose the Pinot (perks of wine tasting prior, you know what’s good). We then decided to get the Feed Me menu which is a set of four of the best dishes chosen by the chef. An option I would recommend.

IMG_0958

We started with delicious Tasmanian oysters which were a special for that particular weekend. These oysters were to die for. So juicy and some of the largest oysters I have seen.

IMG_0955

Our second dish was Smoked Confit Salmon, served with Fennel, white anchovy, olive and creme fraiche. Mmm I am dreaming of the image right now (I guess I am lucky I took a photo.) Such a delicious dish, the salmon was cooked to perfection and so smoky. Every ingredient complimented the dish and made it whole. Nothing was missing and there wasn’t to much.

IMG_0980

The next dish was the Beef Cheek, served with onion soubise, charred onion, snow pea, ruby pinot. Oh my gosh, if you love your meat, which I definitely do, this is the dish for you. I like my beef rare and it came out perfectly to my liking. Such a juicy piece of meat. The charred onion was to die for and the soubise which was also great. Simple but perfect.

IMG_1005

And for dessert we had a refreshing Buttermilk and Thyme Mousse which was served with Seasonal ruby fruits, lemon, meringue, buttermilk sorbet. Such a great end to the meal. After the previous dish this was perfect as we needed a light end to the meal.

IMG_1028

All in all, I really loved Josef Chromy. I would recommend anyone going there. Whether it is just to look at the amazing grounds, to try the wine or to eat, you will definitely have a great experience.

Photography and article by Noah Esposito

Josef Chromy Vineyard Restaurant Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

